Proceedings of the Ontario Society for the Study of Argumentation Conference, Vol. 7 (2007)

Dissensus & The Search for Common Ground

University of Windsor, June 6-9, 2007

Organizing Committee:

  • Hans V. Hansen
  • Christopher W. Tindale
  • J. Anthony Blair
  • Ralph H. Johnson

Programme Committee:

  • Derek Allen, University of Toronto
  • J. Anthony Blair, University of Windsor
  • Daniel H. Cohen, Colby College
  • David M. Godden, University of Windsor
  • Jean Goodwin, Iowa State University
  • Hans V. Hansen, University of Windsor
  • Ralph H. Johnson, University of Windsor
  • Christopher W. Tindale, University of Windsor

The society is grateful to the following for their generous support:

  • The Social Sciences and Humanities REsearch Council of Canada
  • The Provost and Vice-President, Academic, University of Windsor
  • The Dean of Arts and Social Sciences, University of Windsor
  • The Centre for Research in Reasoning, Argumentation and Rhetoric (CRRAR), University of Windsor
  • The Network for the Study of Reasoning (NSR), Canada
  • The Department of Philosophy, University of Windsor
  • Dr. John Hoaglund and Vale Press
  • Dr. Stephen Pender, University of Windsor
  • Humanities Research Group, University of Windsor
  • Sic Sat: International Centre for the Study of Argumentation

J. Anthony Blair Student-Essay Prize

This conference sees the fourth competition for the J. Anthony Blair Prize, an award given by OSSA to an outstanding paper by a graduate student whose paper was accepted for the conference. The award was presented at the banquet, Saturday, June 9. We wish to acknowledge and thank the scholars who advised the Organizing Committee in the competition for the OSSA prize:

  • Charles Blatz, University of Toledo
  • Robert Ennis, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
  • John Fields, Edgewood College
  • Michael Hoffman, Georgia institute of Technology
  • Beth Monolescu, University of Kansas
  • Harvey Siegel, University of Miami
  • Kenneth Olson, Law School Admission Council

Additional Acknowledgements

  • Mark Battersby, Photography
  • Tory James, Photography
  • Jacob Machina, Technical Assistant
  • Robert Pinto, Photography
  • Maryam, Yousif, Photography

ISSN 2371-8323

Browse the contents of OSSA 7:

Papers and Commentaries
Papers and commentaries from the 7th OSSA conference June 6-9, 2007
Keynote Speakers
Keynote speakers from OSSA 7